Skip to content ↓

Computing Curriculum


At Princess May, we want our children to have the skills necessary for an ever-changing world.

Our scheme of work aims to fulfil the National curriculum Purpose of Study, which  states:

‘The core of computing is computer science, in which pupils are taught the principles of information and computation, how digital systems work, and how to put this knowledge to use through programming. Building on this knowledge and understanding, pupils are equipped to use information technology to create programs, systems, and a range of content. Computing also ensures that pupils become digitally literate – able to use, and express themselves and develop their ideas through, information and communication technology – at a level suitable for the future workplace and as active participants in a digital world’.

We have chosen the Kapow Primary scheme of work for Computing. It aims to instil a sense of enjoyment around using technology and to develop pupil’s appreciation of its capabilities and the opportunities technology offers to, create, manage, organise, and collaborate. Tinkering’ with software and programs forms a part of pupils experiences as we want to develop pupils’ confidence when encountering new technology, which is a vital skill in the ever evolving and changing landscape of technology. Through our curriculum, we intend for pupils not only to be digitally competent and have a range of transferable skills at a suitable level for the future workplace, but also to be responsible online citizens.

In conjunction with PSHE sessions, children's learning experiences in Computing aim to satisfy the objectives of the DfE’s Education for a Connected World framework. This is designed to help equip children for life in the digital world, including developing their understanding of appropriate online behaviour, copyright issues, being discerning consumers of online information and healthy users of technology.


Teaching and learning in Computing designed with three strands:

  • Computer science
  • Information technology
  • Digital literacy

These strands are organised into five key areas, creating a cyclical route through which pupils can develop their computing knowledge and skills by revisiting and building on previous learning:

  • Computer systems and networks
  • Programming
  • Creating media
  • Data handling
  • Online safety

Our scheme of work for Computing ensures a broad and balanced coverage of the National curriculum requirements. Lessons incorporate a range of teaching strategies from independent tasks, paired and group work as well as unplugged and digital activities. This variety means that lessons are engaging and appeal to those with a variety of learning styles. Differentiated guidance is available for every lesson to ensure that lessons can be accessed by all pupils and opportunities to stretch pupils’ learning are available when required. Knowledge organisers for each unit support pupils in building a foundation of factual knowledge by encouraging recall of key facts and vocabulary.

Strong subject knowledge is vital for staff to be able to deliver a highly effective and robust computing curriculum so we provide training to our teaching staff to ensure that they are confident to deliver lessons of a high standard that ensure pupil progression.

Computing sessions through timetabled access to tablet devices and a computer suite with 16 desktop computers. We also have additional resources such as Microbits and Beebots to support programming embedded devices at a range of different levels.


The impact of teaching and learning is monitored through both formative and summative assessment opportunities.  All classes keep a record of Computing outcomes and activities in a STEAM floor book which can be viewed by children and adults.

Pupils should leave school equipped with a range of skills to enable them to succeed in their secondary education and be active participants in the ever-increasing digital world. The expected impact of our Computing teaching and learning is that children will:

  • Be critical thinkers and able to understand how to make informed and appropriate digital choices in the future.
  • Understand the importance that computing will have going forward in both their educational and working life and in their social and personal futures.
  • Understand how to balance time spent on technology and time spent away from it in a healthy and appropriate manner.
  • Understand that technology helps to showcase their ideas and creativity. They will know that different types of software and hardware can help them achieve a broad variety of artistic and practical aims.
  • Show a clear progression of technical skills across all areas of the National curriculum - computer science, information technology and digital literacy.
  • Be able to use technology both individually and as part of a collaborative team.
  • Be aware of online safety issues and protocols and be able to deal with any problems in a responsible and appropriate manner.
  • Have an awareness of developments in technology and have an idea of how current technologies work and relate to one another.
  • Meet the end of key stage expectations outlined in the National curriculum for Computing.
cultural capital 

 With our firm belief that knowledge is transferable, our pupils are given every opportunity to participate in a wide range of learning experiences beyond their classroom.

Princess May has constructed a Computing curriculum that is designed to give all pupils, particularly the disadvantaged, the knowledge and cultural capital they need to succeed in life.